Call for Proposals – Vocal Music for a European Dialogue

The vocal ensemble AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN, Artistic Director Olaf Katzer, along with HELLERAU—European Centre of Arts, the Saxon Academy of the Arts (Sächsische Akademie der Künste), and the Dresden Philharmonic, extend a call for proposals: to encourage compositional concepts with the theme “Music—Democracy—Europe.” Selected compositions proposals will be commissioned for world premiere in Hannover and Dresden in 2019.

Background
The project “Vocal Music for a European Dialogue” is a development and continuation of the project “Vox Populi?! The Sound of Democracy,” realized by AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN in 2017 to promote the creation of new works for professional vocal ensembles containing social and sociological themes. The project aims to foster socially engaged cooperations that focus on democratic negotiation throughout Europe.

Questions and critical reflection on the theme Europe and Democracy form the root of the project. Composers are encouraged to consider questions of social consciousness to inform their creation of new works and enrich their vocal and choral music repertoires. Emphasis can be placed on current struggles in Europe and the European Union, including the question of European identity, as well as conflict between: urban and rural populations, poor and rich, young and old, globalism and nationalism, and an increased tendency toward political extremism and populism.

Project Aims
The project aims to address social and sociological questions with musical expression, providing audiences with a new and unconventional platform to consider aspects of European democracy, policy, and collective society.

Guiding Questions
Can music and its collective performance result in a better understanding of democracy and social inclusivity, and if so, how? Is there such a thing as a European homeland, and what does a Europe of 2019 look like? Can a person be defined first as a European, and then as member of a nation? How can participation and democratic reflection be expressed through contemporary vocal music? How can we make Europe more democratic?

Procedure
From the submitted proposals, up to five concepts will be chosen for commission.
On April 6 – 7 2019, in collaboration with AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN and a team of music and democratic theory scholars, a workshop will take place at the Saxon Academy of the Arts in Dresden to discuss, consider, develop, and potentially rehearse concepts. This form of interdisciplinary exchange is intended to inspire artists and support the extraordinary outcomes that may arise from innovative application of the subject material.
Lecturers will include: Prof. Mark Andre (Composer, Saxon Academy of the Arts), Prof. Dr. Dirk Baecker (Chair of Cultural Theory and Management, University Witten/Herdecke), Prof. Dr. Jörn Peter Hiekel (Director, Institute for New Music, Dresden University of Music, Saxon Academy of the Arts), Olaf Katzer (Artistic Director AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN, Choral conducting, Dresden University of Music), and Prof. Dr. Dieter Mersch (Institute of Theory, Department of Cultural Analysis and Mediation, Zurich University of the Arts).
Following the workshop, composers will have the opportunity to work on commissions until June 15, 2019.
The works will premiere at the conference for choral music by the German Choral Association (Deutscher Chorverband) chor.com in Hannover, and on November 9th at the Kulturpalast Dresden.

Categories and Details
Concepts should be written a cappella for vocal ensemble and chorus, and should address core ideas of and about democracy, and present them in new musical formats to further explore if and how music can influence the development and support of democratic communication.

In addition, composers may propose an idea for collaborative composition, whereby two or more composers of different nationalities may compose a work in tandem, using cultural exchange to arrive at a new form of expression.

Applicants may submit proposals in both individual and collaborative composition categories.

Proposals should adhere to the following criteria:

1)            Arrangement
The planned composition is arranged for (a) solo vocal ensemble in (b) 10-part chorus: SSSAATTBBB, and is written a cappella – without instruments or electronic and/or video recording (possible exception: mobile device such as a smartphone).

2)            Duration
The composition is 5 to 10 minutes in length.

3)            Content
Aside from the musical score, the planned composition contains no additional requirements for performance, such as special stage or costume design (possible exception: minimal use of props, everyday objects.)

4)            Place of Performance
The planned composition can be performed in various concert venues and diverse circumstances without fixed conditions such as choreography and/or staging.

5)            Suggested Texts
Use of one of the suggested texts is optional.
The planned composition may include one of the following texts:

a) Council of the European Union: Council Conclusions on Human Rights and Democracy [1]
b) European Parliament: The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union [2]
c) “Team Freiheit” (Team Freedom, German text): Die sechs grundlegenden europäischen Werte [3]
d) Walt Whitman, Democratic Vistas (1871), For You O Democracy (o. ä.) [4]
e) Thomas Mann, Goethe and Democracy (1949) [5]
f) Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt, How Democracies Die (2018) [6]

Rights must be obtained for use of copyrighted text or music used in compositions.

Selection Process
A jury will choose up to five of the submitted proposals for commission. A total of 5,000 Euro will be available to recipients. Proposals by single composers will be granted 1,000 Euro, and collaborating composers will receive 2,000 Euro.

Submission Requirements
The call for proposals is open internationally to all composers. The jury may divide the available prize money depending on merit; decisions are final, and recourse to the court is not permitted. Participation in the workshop at the Saxon Academy of the Arts is mandatory. Travel costs to the workshop in Dresden will be covered. Compositions must be completed by June 15, 2019 and prepared into printable editions.

Proposals must be received by January 31, 2019. Applications may be submitted in German or English. In addition, applicants should submit the following:

  • CV in list format
  • List of works
  • Two example compositions

Submit to: management@auditivvokal.de

Email subject: Call for Proposals

Performance Dates

  • chor.com (Hannover) / September 12-15, 2019
  • Kulturpalast Dresden / November 9, 2019

Works will be performed by AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN at the direction of Olaf Katzer.

Jury

  • Olaf Katzer – Artistic Director, AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN
  • Jörn Peter Hiekel – Saxon Academy of the Arts & Dresden University of Music
  • Mark Andre – Saxon Academy of the Arts & Dresden University of Music
  • Moritz Lobeck – Hellerau: European Centre for the Arts
  • Jens Schubbe – Dresden Philharmonic
  • Adelheid Schloemann – Dresden Philharmonic
  • Dieter Mersch – Zurich University of the Arts, Department of Cultural Analysis and Mediation
  • Berit Kramer – Managing Director, AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN

Call-for-Proposals_DE-EN-ES

[1] http://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-11855-2012-INIT/en/pdf
[2]
http://www.europarl.europa.eu/charter/default_en.htm
http://www.europarl.europa.eu/comparl/libe/elsj/charter/default_en.htm
[3]
https://teamfreiheit.info/europaeische-werte/
[4]
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/51567/for-you-o-democracy
https://www.brainpickings.org/2018/07/26/walt-whitman-specimen-days-democracy/
https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/walt-whitman-poet-democracy
[5]
https://www.fischerverlage.de/buch/goethe_und_die_demokratie/9783104015613
[6] https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/562246/how-democracies-die-by-steven-levitsky-and-daniel-ziblatt/

Supported by

musikfonds_web_color  BKM_2017_Web_de

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

Call for Proposals – Vokalmusik im europäischen Dialog

Das Vokalensemble AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN und sein Künstlerischer Leiter Olaf Katzer schreiben in Zusammenarbeit mit HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste und der Dresdner Philharmonie einen Call for Proposals aus: Ausgezeichnet werden die überzeugendsten Werkkonzeptionen, die sich ästhetisch mit dem Thema „Musik – Demokratie – Europa“ auseinandersetzen. Die Auszeichnung besteht in honorierten Auftragswerken, die im Jahr 2019 in Hannover und Dresden zur Uraufführung gelangen.

Zum Hintergrund
Das Projekt Vokalmusik im europäischen Dialog ist eine Weiterentwicklung und Fortsetzung des Projektes Vox populi?! Der Klang der Demokratie, welches AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN im Jahr 2017 realisiert hat und das die Entstehung neuer Vokalwerke für professionelles Vokalensemble mit gesellschaftlichen sowie soziologischen Themen verbindet. Das Projekt möchte gesellschaftlich engagiertes Miteinander und demokratisches Handeln in Europa befördern.

Fragen und kritische Reflektionen zum Thema Europa und die Demokratie bilden den Kern des Konzertprojekts. Es möchte alle Komponist*innen ermuntern, die vokale Ensemble- und Chormusiklandschaft mit neuen Werken zu bereichern und sich in weltbezogener Weise kompositorisch mit dem Thema auseinanderzusetzen. Schwerpunkte können beispielsweise die aktuellen Herausforderungen Europas und der Europäischen Union sein: Die Frage nach einer europäischen Identität, die Konflikte zwischen Stadt und Land, Armen und Reichen, Jungen und Alten, Globalismus und Nationalismus sowie die Tendenz zu politischem Extremismus und Populismus.

Projektziele
Ziel des Projektes ist es, weltbezogene und gesellschaftliche Fragen aufzugreifen und auf diese musikalisch zu reagieren. Dies soll dem Publikum eine neue, unkonventionelle Ebene des Nachdenkens über Aspekte der europäischen Demokratie, der Politik und der Gesellschaft eröffnen.

Fragestellungen
Können Musik und gemeinsames Musizieren zu mehr Demokratieverständnis und Gesellschaftsfähigkeit beitragen, und wenn ja: Wie? Gibt es eine europäische Heimat und wie klingt Europa im Jahr 2019? Kann man sich zuerst als europäische*r Bürger*in und dann als Angehörige*r einer Nation definieren? Wie lassen sich Teilhabe und demokratisches (Selbst-)Verständnis in zeitgenössischer Vokalmusik ausdrücken? Wie kommen wir zu einem demokratischeren Europa?

Vorgehen
Aus den eingereichten Proposals werden bis zu fünf Werkkonzeptionen ausgewählt, die als Kompositionsaufträge vergeben werden.
Am 6. und 7. April 2019 findet in Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ensemble sowie einem Team aus musik- und demokratietheoretisch geschulten Wissenschaftler*innen ein Workshop an der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste statt, in dem die Werkkonzeptionen diskutiert, reflektiert, entwickelt und ggf. erprobt werden. Diese interdisziplinäre Begegnung soll die Komponist*innen zu der besonderen Themenstellung künstlerisch anregen und sie so dabei unterstützen, zu außergewöhnlichen künstlerischen Ergebnissen zu kommen.
Dozenten des Workshops sind: Prof. Mark Andre (Komponist, Sächsische Akademie der Künste), Prof. Dr. Dirk Baecker (Lehrstuhl für Kulturtheorie und Management, Universität Witten/Herdecke), Prof. Dr. Jörn Peter Hiekel (Leitung Institut für Neue Musik der Hochschule für Musik Dresden, Sächsische Akademie der Künste), Olaf Katzer (Künstlerischer Leiter AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN, Chordirigieren, Hochschule für Musik Dresden) sowie Prof. Dr. Dieter Mersch (Institut für Theorie – Departement Kulturanalysen und Vermittlung, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste).
An den Workshop schließt sich die Kompositionsphase bis 15. Juni 2019 an.
Die Werke werden beim Branchentreff der Chormusik, der vom Deutschen Chorverband veranstalteten chor.com in Hannover, sowie am 9. November im Kulturpalast Dresden uraufgeführt.

Kategorien und Dispositionen der Werke
Gewünscht werden Konzeptionen zu Vokalensemble- und Chorwerken a cappella, die sich thematisch mit Gedanken der Demokratie und Gedanken zur Demokratie auseinandersetzen, sie in neue musikalische Formate bringen und sich der Frage stellen, ob und wie Musik demokratieentwickelnd und -fördernd wirken kann.

Im Speziellen sollen alle Komponist*innen auch dazu ermutigt werden, eine Dialogkompositionsidee einzureichen: Möglich ist es, dass ein Tandem aus zwei oder mehr Komponist*innen unterschiedlicher Herkunft gemeinsam ein Werk komponiert und im Dialog zu einer neuen Ausdrucksform gelangt.

Eine Bewerbung in beiden Kategorien ist möglich.

Die einzureichenden Proposals sollen dabei grundsätzlich folgenden Kriterien entsprechen:

1)            Besetzung
a) Die geplante Komposition ist für solistisch besetztes Vokalensemble a cappella, also ohne Instrumente, (Live-)Elektronik und/oder Videozuspiel (optionale Ausnahme: Einsatz von mobilen Abspielgeräten (Smartphones etc.)
b) Die Komposition ist in der 10er-Chorbesetzung SSSAATTBBB aufführbar.

2)            Dauer
Die geplante Komposition hat eine Spieldauer von 5 bis max. 10 Minuten.

3)            Aufwand
Die geplante Komposition verlangt abseits des Notentextes keinen weiteren logistischen Aufwand (keine speziellen Bühnen- und Kostümbilder (optionale Ausnahme: minimaler Einsatz von Requisiten, Alltagsgegenständen).

4)            Disposition
Die geplante Komposition ist an unterschiedlichen Konzertorten und zu verschiedensten Anlässen ohne feste Disposition (Choreographie und/oder Inszenierung) aufführbar.

5)            Textvorlagen-Vorschläge
Die Vertonung eines (präexistenten) Textes ist optional.
Die geplante Komposition kann einen der folgenden Texte enthalten:

a) Rat der EU, Menschenrechte und Demokratie: Strategischer Rahmen…[1]
b) Europäisches Parlament, Charta der Grundrechte der EU[2]
c) Team Freiheit, Die sechs grundlegenden europäischen Werte[3]
d) Walt Whitman, Democratic Vistas (1871), For You O Democracy (o. ä.)[4]
e) Thomas Mann, Goethe und die Demokratie (1949)[5]
f) Steven Levitsky und Daniel Ziblatt, Wie Demokratien sterben (2018)[6]

Bei Verwendung eines präexistenten Textes ist sichtbar zu machen, dass die Vertonungsgenehmigung und Abdruckrechte von den Rechteinhaber*innen eingeholt worden sind.

Kompositionsaufträge
Von den eingereichten Werkkonzeptionen wählt die Jury bis zu fünf aus, die als Kompositionsauftrag vergeben werden. Dafür stehen insgesamt bis zu 5.000,- Euro zur Verfügung.
Es werden drei Kompositionsaufträge in Höhe von je 1.000,- Euro, sowie ein Kompositionsauftrag für die Dialogkomposition in Höhe von 2.000,- Euro vergeben.

Teilnahmebedingungen
Der Call for Proposals steht allen Komponist*innen weltweit offen. Die Jury kann die zur Verfügung stehenden Preisgelder je nach Lage der Einsendungen unterschiedlich aufteilen; ihre Entscheidung ist bindend, der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen. Die Teilnahme am Workshop der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste ist verpflichtend. Die Reisekosten zum Workshop in Dresden werden übernommen. Die Komposition muss anschließend bis spätestens 15. Juni 2019 fertiggestellt und in kopierfähiger Edition bereitgestellt sein.

Die Proposals müssen digital bis zum 31. Januar 2019 eingegangen sein.

Bewerbungen sind auf Deutsch und Englisch möglich.

Neben der Werkidee sollen dem Proposal beigefügt werden:

  • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
  • Werkliste
  • Zwei Beispiel-Kompositionen

Einsendeadresse digital: management@auditivvokal.de

E-Mail-Betreff: Call for Proposals

Uraufführungsorte und -termine

  • chor.com (Hannover) / 12.-15. September 2019
  • Kulturpalast Dresden / 9. November 2019

Die Werke werden von AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN unter der Leitung von Olaf Katzer uraufgeführt.

Jury

  • Olaf Katzer (Künstlerischer Leiter, AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN)
  • Jörn Peter Hiekel (Sächsische Akademie der Künste & Hochschule für Musik Dresden)
  • Mark Andre (Sächsische Akademie der Künste & Hochschule für Musik Dresden)
  • Moritz Lobeck (HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste)
  • Jens Schubbe (Dresdner Philharmonie)
  • Adelheid Schloemann (Dresdner Philharmonie)
  • Dieter Mersch (Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Departement Kulturanalysen und Vermittlung)
  • Berit Kramer (Geschäftsführerin, AUDITIVVOKAL DRESDEN)

Ausschreibungstext_Call-for-Proposals_DE-EN-ES

[1] http://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-11855-2012-INIT/de/pdf
[2] http://www.europarl.europa.eu/charter/default_en.htm
http://www.europarl.europa.eu/comparl/libe/elsj/charter/default_en.htm
[3]
https://teamfreiheit.info/europaeische-werte/
[4]
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/51567/for-you-o-democracy
https://www.brainpickings.org/2018/07/26/walt-whitman-specimen-days-democracy/
https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/walt-whitman-poet-democracy
[5]
https://www.fischerverlage.de/buch/goethe_und_die_demokratie/9783104015613
[6]
https://www.randomhouse.de/Buch/Wie-Demokratien-sterben/Steven-Levitsky/DVA-Sachbuch/e529414.rhd

Kooperationspartner

musikfonds_web_color  BKM_2017_Web_de

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+